NaNoWriMo Truths

Things NaNoWriMo Taught Me

  • I enjoy meticulously obsessing over the wording of each sentence and phrase.
  • How to write a great quantity of words each day.
  • That when I write in a hurry, I lose track of my plot.
  • How much fun it is to get wrapped up in a story and characters of your own creation.
  • The types of background noise that is acceptable.  I particularly enjoy foreign background music, like this,  this,and this; and of course, the elusive sound of silence.
  • Research is half the battle.
  • Procrastination isn’t as terrible as it is made out to be.
  • I can do amazing things with an hour to myself in the middle of the day.
  • Anne Lamott doesn’t know everything, and though it pains me to admit it, Ian McEwan isn’t perfect either.  A writer is as good as his flaws.
  • I think faster than I can type.
  • Longhand is a great tool too.
  • I enjoy non-fiction writing as much as fiction.
  • The bed is a fine place to peck out some words, but a proper desk and chair, and preferably one without a cushion, is the best place for me to focus for long periods of time.  Add a cup of coffee or tea and I could sit for hours.
  • Getting outside to be among the trees is important for letting creativity loose.  So is proper sleep, though a certain amount of fatigue elicits a certain amount of honesty.
English: Ian McEwan, a british writer, photogr...

English: Ian McEwan, a british writer, photographed during the 2001 Paris book festival. Français : L’écrivain britannique Ian McEwan, photographié au salon du livre de Paris 2011. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My thoughts...

