Gratitude & Regret

I’ve had a terrible habit lately of taking things for granted.  I make weekly trips to the aquarium, the beach, the pool, and the farmers market with my son, and rarely do I pause to wonder if it is going to be the last time.  Last week I interviewed for a job I know would suit me…I might be offered the position and suddenly be a working mother again, facing different adventures and routines.

I was thinking about this today on an afternoon walk.  We live in such a beautiful neighborhood, we can walk out the front door and be engulfed in forest and nature moments later.  Before we moved I always longed to get out of the house and look at the natural world, but living in the Boston area made it complicated.  The parks we lived near were surrounded by highways, and even Boston Common couldn’t offer the serenity I get from forests.  Today we easily got to see the real world: deer, squirrels, butterflies, snakes, spiders, flowers, frogs, a great spectrum of earth. I’ve been expecting a phone call all day though, so I had my phone with me.  The baby had fallen asleep, and the dog was obediently trotting beside us.  My hand seemed magnetized to my phone.  Like just because I had it, and just because it was possible, my hand tried to check my email.  I caught it, put my phone back in my pocket and took a deep breath of gratitude.  I have few responsibilities, and few people rely on me right now.  These days are surely numbered, whether I get a job next week, or two years from now, I know I will not get to spend all this time with my son, my dog, and the woods forever.  I mustn’t wish for change, when one day I know I’ll be longing for these carefree–and yes, even boring–days of stay at home motherhood.

We ended up taking a very long walk.  I fell into a trance, hypontized by the beautiful afternoon sun and clouds, the warm breeze.  No mosquitos to chase away.  I stared at the treetops for miles, wondering what I could do to have this view forever.

I hope my next job comes with an office with a view because I am a better person when I’m surrounded by trees.  They are my go to doodle after all.  What inspires you?

My thoughts...

