More Shining, Less Whining

I was such a grump yesterday.  Apologies (to my non-existent readers).

I really don’t like days that I don’t fully enjoy.  Does that even make sense?

I know lack of sleep is the root of my discontent. I also know that somehow exercise perks me up, and I live the day so much more mindfully and happily as a result.  So, I’ve been willingly out of bed since 5:15 this morning so I could get to the gym before work.  Something about pushing myself to do just one more sprint, two more push ups, three more planks…all of the rest of the day’s challenges are so much easier to confront.

I’m sitting up in bed now at 7:30, wondering if it is too early to snuggle under the blankets with my kindle.  I’m relishing every word of Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84. While in reality it has only been about 5 months since I would routinely lie languidly in bed with a cup of tea and a bar of chocolate, now facing the prospect of it, I feel so overly indulgent. I have hoarded 5 exquisite chocolate bars over the last few months. They’ve patiently been waiting in my bedside table to be eaten. A few visiting bars have stopped by, but were eaten during one of my many sudden, hurried needs for calories while tethered to the bed and baby.

Based on the topically peripatetic nature of this entry, I am taking that as a sign to submit to my wildest fantasy: chocolate, Murakami, and an early night of sleep!

My thoughts...

