Brahmacharya

I have always loved morning, although now with a little baby who sleeps erratically, it is hard to determine when my mornings begin. Today, he woke up to eat at 3am and 5:45am. I usually get up around 6:30am to get ready for the day, so I was faced with a serious dilemma about whether or not to try to go back to sleep for 30 minutes or get up and maybe sneak in an extra chore or two. I opted for the former, because after some air travel earlier this week, I feel the hint of a cold coming on, and sleep has always been my best remedy. I completely passed out for those glorious 30 minutes–even falling into a dream state, so that when my alarm went off (I do not always set it, luckily last night I did), I thought it was part of my dream!

I dream about lots of random things: working out, running, the past, my family, my dog, my job, and lately, sexual dreams have started creeping back in. I thought it was SO weird that I had such vivid sexual dreams the nights directly following the birth of my son. I would have expected the opposite, but perhaps all the ramped up hormones drove me to need to expel some ideas for more physical gratification. This lasted for about 3 weeks, then any type of dream went away completely. Anyways, during my brief return to sleep this morning, I had another very explicit dream about an encounter with my husband (I won’t go into detail, that would be attracting the wrong kind of readers), but suffice it to say, I am happy that my sex drive is finally back. I wonder how many other women experience increased sexual dreams, and I also wonder if it signifies a return to my normal state of sexual equilibrium? The past three months of unintentional mostly brahmacharya have left me feeling quite unusual. Not to say anything of how my poor husband has been feeling!

Hmmm…Lofty thoughts for a Thursday morning, I know!

My thoughts...

